Current social media political attitudes among Christians:

Hopeless Christian: my candidate is gone and everyone left is horrible so I’m going to stay at the compound and watch reruns of The Andy Griffith Show on Election Day and pretend this isn’t happening.

Begrudged Christian: I’ve finally resigned myself to voting for a candidate but you can’t make me like it and I’m not going to tell you for fear of being told I’ve lost my salvation. Now I feel like taking a shower.

Outraged Christian: depravity! Hillary is Satan incarnate and Trump is a wolf in an ass’s clothing, and anyone who dares vote for either is headed toward HELLFIRE!! Ayieeee!!

Impractical Christian: vote for (insert unknown moral person here) who wasn’t in the primaries and won’t win but at least we will show the world we failed with dignity and didn’t play their game and we aren’t really a part of this world anyway so even so come Lord Jesus.

Trump Christian: GO TRUMP!

Hillary Christian: (whispered) go hillary.

I make some fun of each camp only because I can’t help but find humor in things and to illustrate that, in short, it’s messy. And I hate to say it, but we’re making it messier. I’m getting uncomfortable. Not by the depravity of candidates but by the degradation of Christians by other Christians either through blatant attacks or subtle hints. We’re putting cracks in our unity because we’re promoting a worldly election above its proper place. We don’t need to unify behind a candidate. In some ways we need to have the attitude “render unto Caesar the things that are Caesar’s and unto God the things that are God’s.” Put things in perspective. Let your unity be in the Spirit of God, not the banner of our favorite cutting meme.

Don’t get me wrong. Speak your mind! But separate your mind from God’s will when you do it. And by all means speak God’s word! But not as a means to promote your will.

So some people want to vote for the lesser of two evils. Okay. So others say voting for anyone is against their conscience. Alright. Some say even Hillary is better than letting Trump win. Ok then.

At the risk of sounding sappy, I’m going to love you whatever type of Christian you are this election. And if I disagree with you, that’s okay. Because, like I said, this is messy and this is hard.

Let me just end by giving you some bad news and some good news. Bad: somebody much less than ideal is going to be elected as president. Good: Somebody greater than all is on His throne.

Habakkuk asked God “How could you use such a vile heathen nation to attack and punish your chosen people!?” to which God said “The just shall live by faith.”

So how can God let these be our candidates!? The just shall live by faith.

Leave a Reply

